Palestinian Diaspora, Identity and Cyberspace

Over a year and a half ago I started to do some basic research for my thesis, at the time I didn’t have a clear idea on what I wanted to write about, all I knew was that I wanted to write about Cyberspace, activism and the Palestinian youth. Although I ended up focusing on ICT development through ICT literacy projects targeting the youth in the West Bank, I did go through tons of material focusing on online activism and identity. More importantly material on online community and identity in relation to the Palestinian Diaspora. After going through articles addressing this topic I pushed it aside making room for the work I needed to do for my thesis, knowing that one day I will return to it, and certain that my past as a Palestinian living in diaspora will nag me to follow up on this issue.

Over a month ago I attended a lecture by Dr. Karma Nabulsi, on the status of the Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO), Palestinian National Council (PNC) elections and the effects of the Palestinian UN bid on the PLO. What struck me most during that lecture was Nabulsi’s focus on the need for a unified platform amongst Palestinians all over the world. It got me thinking, well how are we going to unite a people that are scattered across the globe, and have lived in diaspora for over 60 years?

I figured it was time to link both my passion for digital media and my past and  look towards Cyberspace as a tool for this unification. While there have been numerous attempts to connect, or reconnect Palestinians with their roots, and their fellow Palestinians living in Palestine. With projects such as Across Borders, or websites like Palestine Remembered, my research has shown that there hasn’t been a single project that has attempted to create an online Palestinian community across the globe. Though if there is a project out there that does just that then please do correct me!

Now bear with me, because these are some raw ideas. What if a digital platform was created to promote an extensive Palestinian online community, aiming to engage Palestinians with each other and attempt to unify the Palestinians under a common platform or identity? Create a social network that would offer much more than just social connections, but also context. Arguably, attempt to create what Benedict Anderson coined: an “Imagined Community”, or as I would say: a Cyber ‘Imagined Community’.

For the time being, these are my initial thoughts on the matter and I hope to further develop this concept.

Leave a Reply

